Alma, Marion Co., Illinois
(Note: Since there are so many images, these have been divided up into several
books for the website.
Remember that you can also use CTRL-F to find a particular surname within these
pictures when you are on the page.)
looking for photos of people and/or places from around Kinmundy & Alma.
Can you help?
Or maybe you have
stories or memories from the "Good Old Days"? What do YOU remember?
The Kinmundy Historical Society would be honored to preserve your memories and
stories. We also have the
equipment to scan (or copy) your photos so that
they may be enjoyed now as well as for generations yet to come!
would love to hear from you! For more information, please contact:
Dolores (Ford) Mobley –
208 Joan Dr.; Divernon, IL 62530;
Gladys (Corrie) See –
408 S. Washington
St.; Kinmundy, IL 62854; (618) 547-7731
Click to return to
See Block in Alma, Illinois
(BA-3a) Alma Main Street - This scene was described as the J.R.
Clow Block in Alma on the imprinted postcard. In the background on the
left side, was the
W.S. Shrigley company, canner and packer of fruits and
vegetables. On the far right side was the J.F. Boring Livery (with the
horse drawn above the doors.)
(BA-6a) W.S. Shrigley, Canner & Packer
of Fruits and Vegetables
The old Alma
canning factory burned down on July 4, 1908 and was never rebuilt.
Pictured are "
Ras" Wright, _________, W.S. Shrigley who owned the company, ____ Freeman Eagan,
(BA-17a) J.F. Boring Livery in Alma, Ill.
(This is the building across the tracks and south of the canning factory.)
Section of Alma, Illinois
School in Alma, Illinois. This was the former Alma Christian College
building, and burned down.
(BA-8b) Rhodes Hotel in Alma
“Hump” Harris (father of Ruth Harris Brimberry) and 1910 Ford
Alma Basket Factory – Close-up (Part A)
Basket Factory – Close-up (Part B)
BA-13f) Wagons lined
up to unload Alma Gems
1898 Melon Harvest - In the
days when the Alma Gem melon was in its glory, farm wagons like these hauled
the crop to the Alma depot.
From left to
right in the foreground are a Mr. Wyatt, Tom Campbell, MV. Hefton, H.P.
(Hillary) Smith, Billy Caldwell, Charles Wyatt, driver, Roy Wyatt,
C.M. See -
station agent, and J.W. Ross. This picture was taken in 1898 by a St.
lined up to unload Alma Gems before 1909 (Close-up, Part A)
lined up to unload Alma Gems before 1909 (Close-up, Part B)
(BA-16a) Loading the
Melons - Noah Rhodes (Ruth Brimberry’s grandfather) is sitting against a wagon
second from left
Gems going to Chicago - tracks and
depot on right
Dan Purcell coming to town with a wagon load of fruit
Pickle Factory in Alma - "Midwest Products Co."
William Manns' store in Alma in 1895. He was married to Ella Mae Sullens.
(BA-20a) Tubby’s Place
(BA-21d) Alma Main Street (looking
west) after the 1908 fire. The Mazanek store is the building still
standing on the left side of the photo.
(B-77) W.S. Shrigley's Cannery in ruins after the 1908 fire. The
Alma Depot is standing in the background.
(BA-23d) Mazanek Store on the southwest corner of 7th and Illinois. Laura
Mazanek is standing in the foreground in about 1914.
Street - Alma, Illinois
(BA-25a) Alma Post
Office and employees - From Left to Right: Charlie and May Pollock, and
possibly “Hap” Lawrence one of the
(B-71) Doc Laswell's Office
(BA-34) R. F. Wyatt, Mail Carrier, (Belicks Bottoms)
(BA-26a) William Hester Pear Shed – the woman on the far left is Nora Clow. This
picture was taken behind the Hester house in Alma.
The barn and shed are still there.
William Hester Pear Orchards - Alma, Illinois - Sept. 16, 1929
Hester, son of William Hester, is standing in the middle row, 5th from the
Gillium Wilson and Mattie Purcell in Alma
(BA-27d) J.W. Broom Store named “The Square Deal” in Alma,
Illinois – (also printed in a Square Deal Ad
in “The Kinmundy Express” - Oct. 12, 1911)
Pictured are LaVinia (Broom) Shufeldt, Carrie (Broom) Purcell, Clara Tucker and
sister, and Roy Broom.
The store was owned by John W. "Bill Broom and Thelia Belle (Crown) Broom.
"The Kinmundy Express" - Aug. 10,
"J.W. Broom - General Merchandise
Motto - Quick Sales and Small Profits"
"This store is better known as the
SQUARE DEAL. Starting in a small way, Mr. Broom has grown to be one of the
leading, if not the leading store in Alma. While he has only been in the
mercantile business four years, he had a varied experience of twelve years on
the road and this fact coupled with his unusual foresight as a business man and
trader has made his success very rapid. He was burned out December 28, 1908,
during the big fire at Alma, and after that the I.O.O.F. put up a big brick
building which is the pride of the town and is now occupied by Mr. Broom. His
greatest asset in business is his daughter, Miss Carrie, who is very frequently
left in full charge of the business for many days at a time. Mr. Broom deserves
Square Deal Store - J.W. Broom - Alma, IL - 1911
(B-673) Alma's Main Street
(BA-63) Alma Main Street in 1929 featuring "C.L. Rainey's General
Merchandise" and the "Alma State Bank"
A.M Wilson Store (formerly Mazanek Store building in 1929. Notice the gas
pump out front.
(This building sits where John and Lelia Ford built their brick home on the
corner in about 1960, and that home is where Herb & June Williams live in 2013.)
The Alma Garage owned by the Gregory family.
Tomlinson Hotel in Alma in 1929 just north along what is now Rt. 37..
Depot in 1929
Alma Depot in 1929
Methodist Church and parsonage in 1929
Methodist Church in 1929
(BA-53a) Alma Main Street
Street in Alma, Illinois
(BA-54b) Main Street in Alma - 1933
Main Street – 1938
Johnson on Main Street
(BA-75) Lottie Williams standing in
front of Williams Cafe in Alma, around the late 1930s.
(B-58a) Along the
main street in Alma - Relza Sullens and Dwight Day
Alma Cannery Fire (The
building on the far right is the Alma ICRR Depot.)
Freight at Alma, Illinois
cannon in 1944 with Marie Gray and daughter Patsy
(BA-60) The restored canon sits in Alma once again - 2006
Frances Parker in front of “Doc” Slagley at the Alma Post
Cider Factory falling down
"A reminder of bustling days in Alma collapsed
Friday morning. It was the old cider factory building. Unused except
for storage for many years,
the building gradually got decrepit. During
the last several days - maybe it was all the rain - the old structure developed
a sway that was more
noticeable day by day. Thursday night's rain
must have finished it off. About 9:45 the next morning, the old building
shuddered and fell. The
pictures above were taken about 15 minutes later.
Alma was a busy fruit center from the earliest days after the railroad opened up
Illinois. According to Joe Mazanek, who used to
own it, the factory was built in 1912, as a branch of Midwest Products Co. of
There were three buildings, the cider factory, a
pickle factory behind it, and then the engine building, still standing
(background of bottom photo),
which produced power for the other two. A
railroad siding still runs up to the door of the now-shattered building, though
it is almost covered.
According to John Broom, who now owns it, or
what's left of it, the factory had huge vats and condensers to make cider sirup
which was shipped
by tank car to vinegar factories. The waste
products were dried and sold to make cattle feed. For some years after the
cessation of cider-making,
a St. Louis company made baskets there. At
one time, M.J. Laux owned the factory and made pickles in the center building,
now gone. Broom
bought the property about 20 years ago and used it
to store orchard equipment. It also for a time had bunks for the transient
workers who came
to pick fruit.
and Dutch Rainey in front of Rainey Merchandise - 1944
(BA-46a) The Rainey family in front of the Rainey
Store in Alma
(BA-47a) The Rainey family in front of the Rainey
Store in Alma
in Alma (where Rainey's Store once was) and Bill Beard (1961)
in Alma, and Richard Winks carving (1960)
Station in Alma (where Williams
Implement later stood)
(BA-74) Allis Chambler station in Alma owned by Vernon Gragg - 1949
(BA-73B) Vernon Gragg with Cecil Shreffer & Hartzel Powell at Allis Chalmers store
Pocket knife from O.V. Gragg Allis
Chalmers Farm Equipment business
(BA-77) Tom Garrett on Main Street in Alma
Pat’s Beauty Shop
Pam's Beauty Shop - Pam Hawkins,
owner - 1974
Pam's Beauty Shop - Pam Hawkins,
owner - 1975
Alma Truck Stop - 1964
Johnson's Standard - 1975
Terry's Hiperformance Center - 1975
(BA-84) Slagley Cafe in Alma, IL - ca
(BA-85) ____________, Doc Slagley,
_____________, and Jessie Slagley in front of Slagley's Cafe
Front section: Jim Shreffler, ________,, Eleanor Williams, Bernadine Shanafelt (very front), Mrs. Slagley,(Mike Bee behind her), Bessie Phillips,
Bob Phillips, Dale Hulsey (behind Bob), Bill Wilson (on stool in front), Martha (Tredway) Phillips
Alma Cafe - 1980 - Owners: Richard
& Phyllis Schoreck
Alma Cafe and Diss Garage - Leroy and
Paulene Diss, owners - 1982
(AB-63) Alma Main Street - circa 1972
(AB-64) Alma Main Street - circa 1972
(AB-65) Alma Main Street - circa 1972
Judy Mulvany in the Alma Cafe
Judy Shuler in the Alma Store
Les & Bud's Grocery in Alma (1962)
- pictured are Delila (McWhirter) Caldwell and her son-in-law, Bob Kerley
Bud & Delilia Caldwell and Les &
Mildred McWhirter were the owners of this store.
Alma Grocery - 1980
Winks' Flower & Garden Center -
Winks' Market - 1967
Winks' Market - 1969
Winks' Market - 1970
(BA-69) Gene Winks and Max King
in front of the Alma business
Alma Market - 1965
Alma Market - 1967
Krutsinger's Market - 1969
Alig Dozer Service -
Deadmonds TV - 1962
Deadmonds T.V. - 1961
Yarn Barn - 1978
Alma Emporium - 1984
Bros.General Store plate from Alma, IL
Ola from Alma
“In 1911, for example, there were 600 acres in apples, 400
in pears, 175 in peaches, plus additional acres of daffodils and tomatoes.
During Prohibition, a man by the name of Laux came from St.
Louis and purchased the cider mill.
so the government closed them down because it could be made
into hard cider.@